Eggplant

I found some me-time today! I used it to grocery shop. It’s weird how much better I feel knowing there are healthy options in the kitchen to eat. I got eggplant and broccoli and bok choy and organic sweet potatoes and little baby red potatoes and okra and green beans. I love variety! In the organic freezer section, which I haven’t visited for awhile, I found they have new things. My grocery store is very small and lacking in variety usually. They now have Ezekiel bread. They even had the organic waffles that Jillian Michaels eats. I grabbed a few things, but something that caught my eye was organic french fries. Now, I’m not a big french fry fan, but when you’re not “allowed” to eat them… Looking at the label, they seemed reasonable as far as points might go and I realized they’d go really well with our dinner. Turned out that baked they are only 1 point per ounce.

For dinner we had seared, teriyaki Ahi tuna garnished with sauteed onions, red bell peppers and mushrooms. I make my teriyaki without sugar because I prefer it not sweet and who needs the extra calories. With the baked french fries we had roasted cauliflower with garlic. Everything was delicious and I was able to get full for 6 points (3 oz tuna, 2 oz fries, 1 t. olive oil). I forgot how delicious seared tuna is. Nothing like canned tuna at all. It feels really good to not be hungry and to eat something besides chicken or salad.

I'd love to hear from you!

