Good Food

I’ve been eating some interesting and delicious foods lately in order to make healthy eating fun during the Fall Into Fitness challenge. I’ve tried some new foods like kale salad. (I know, I’m slow to find this gem ingredient). I thought I’d share a few of the new recipes I’ve tried.

Baked Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal

Pumpkin + Oatmeal = Yum

Pumpkin + Oatmeal = Yum

I can’t remember who I saw post this recipe. I apologize if I’m not giving someone credit, but I know they linked to this recipe on Budget Bytes that I adapted. This was pretty good, but different. It was good with some coconut milk and raisins.

Serves: 8
Calories per serving: 193

Ingredients:
1 15 oz can pumpkin
1/2 cup brown sugar
2 large eggs
1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups unsweetened coconut milk
2 cups Better Oats organic Raw Pure & Simple

Instructions:
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. In a large bowl, mix together the pumpkin, brown sugar, eggs, vanilla, pumpkin pie spice, salt, and baking powder until smooth. Add the milk. Mix the dry oats into the pumpkin mixture. Spray an 8×8 baking dish with non-stick spray. Pour in the pumpkin oat mixture. Cover with foil and bake for 30 minutes. Remove the foil and bake another 15 minutes. Serve hot or cold. Topping suggestions are milk, maple syrup, raisins, or nuts.

Pumpkin Yogurt

Tastes like pumpkin pie!

Tastes like pumpkin pie with whipped cream

I love this! Thanks to Tone It With Tori for posting this deliciousness. I eat it several days in a row and only take a break to get some variety and so that I don’t get sick of it. Here’s my version.

Serves: 1
Calories per serving: 232

Ingredients:
4 oz plain low-fat greek yogurt
1 T. maple syrup
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/2 Nature’s Path Mmmaple Pecan granola bar, crumbled
1/2 cup canned pumpkin

Instructions:
Mix everything together well in a bowl except the granola bar. Top with the crumbled granola bar.

Sausage Cauliflower Casserole

Italian pasta substitute

Italian pasta substitute

I saw this on The Chew and thought I’d give it a try since my husband loves sausage. I was very surprised at how delicious it was and it was a very nice substitute for a pasta dish. Here’s how I made it.

Serves: 8
Calories per serving: 138

Ingredients:
1 T. olive oil
1/2 lb ground turkey Italian sausage
1 medium head cauliflower, cut into small pieces
1 diced medium sweet onion
4 minced garlic cloves
28 oz can whole plum tomatoes
1 cup chopped flat leaf parsley
2/3 cup Panko breadcrumbs
1/4 cup shredded Parmesan cheese
Sea salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:
Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Using a heavy pan on medium high heat, brown the sausage in the olive oil. When browned remove the sausage from the pan. Add cauliflower pieces to the pan and brown, about 5 minutes, seasoning with salt and pepper. Put the cauliflower into a 9×13 pan. Add the onion and garlic to the heavy pan and cook until the onions become soft and aromatic. Add the tomatoes with their liquid, along with the sausage and break up the tomatoes with a potato masher. Simmer and add salt and pepper to taste. Pour the tomato and sausage mixture over the cauliflower in the 9×13 pan. In a small bowl, mix together the breadcrumbs, cheese and parsley. Sprinkle the mixture evenly over the top of the sausage and cauliflower and bake until golden brown on top and bubbly, about 30 minutes. Remove from the oven, let sit for 5 to 10 minutes before serving.

Cheesy Spaghetti Squash

This was posted by Jacqui McCoy and here’s how I made it. It turned out very delicious. It didn’t really fulfill the macaroni and cheese craving, but was still satisfying and cheesy. I just can’t think of spaghetti squash as pasta, but I do like it. I love any kind of squash. I forgot to snap a pic.

Serves: 6
Calories per serving: 158

Ingredients:
1 large spaghetti squash (about 6 cups)
Cooking oil spray
1 cup unsweetened almond milk
1 T. flour
1 cup shredded Italian four cheese blend
4 oz goat cheese crumbles
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper (or to taste)
Sea salt and black pepper to taste

Instructions:
Preheat Oven to 400 degrees. Cut spaghetti squash in half length wise, scoop out and discard seeds. Spray squash halves with oil spray and place cut side up on baking dish or cookie sheet. Bake until tender (about 45-60 minutes).
Let the squash cool then scape the insides into a 9×13 baking dish. Spray a large saucepan with cooking spray. On medium heat whisk together the milk and flour in the pan. Turn the heat down to low and add the shredded cheese. Stir until melted. Pour mixture even over the spaghetti squash in the baking dish. Sprinkle the cayenne, salt, pepper and goat cheese over the top of the spaghetti squash. Bake 30 minutes at 350 degrees. Let set for 20 minutes before serving.

Kale Salad

This was posted by The Food Babe. It’s my third Kale Salad recipe that I’ve tried. I pretty much followed the recipe, but it was way too much lemon for me (not a fan). Next time, I would use less lemon. Otherwise I thought it was a nice combination of flavors. The other two kale salads I made included sweet potatoes. Oops, I didn’t get a pic of this dish either.

Serves: 4
Calories per serving: 203

Ingredients:
1 bunch of lacinato kale, stems removed, rinsed and patted dry
1/3 cup chopped raisins
juice of one lemon
1 T. of olive oil
1 tsp honey
Sea salt and pepper to taste
1/2 cup pine nuts
4 T. grated Parmesan cheese

Instructions:
Toast the pine nuts in a pan over low heat. In a large bowl mix together the lemon juice, olive oil, honey, salt and pepper for the dressing. Chop kale into small pieces (or use a food processor). Add kale, raisins, pine nuts and Parmesan to bowl with dressing and mix well.

Do you like kale? Do you like pumpkin? Do you think spaghetti squash makes a good pasta substitute? Do you watch The Chew?

Bon appétit!

4 thoughts on “Good Food

I'd love to hear from you!

