New Recipe #1 – Broiled Chicken With Peppers

One of my goals for this year is to try one new recipe each week. My first recipe was this delicious Broiled Chicken with Peppers that was posted by Rantings of an Amateur Chef. When I read the recipe, I admit I wasn’t a hundred percent on board with it. First, I was confused by using one potato. One. 1. I’m pretty sure I’ve never made any recipe that asked for just one potato. Second, the potato was to be cut in 1-inch pieces and boiled. Then fried. This is another thing I can’t recall ever doing. Boiling then frying a potato. One potato. And finally, the cherry peppers threw me. I like cherry peppers. But I have always assumed they were meant to be put on a relish tray with things like olives and pickles and whole green onions or other pickled items. I know I have never cut them up and cooked with them (or seen a recipe that did so). I am pretty sure it’s the cherry peppers that make this dish so delicious. I used chicken breast because that’s what I had on hand, but I would prefer the thighs that the recipe calls for. I gave this dish 5 stars and look forward to making it again.

broiled chicken with peppers

 Broiled Chicken With Peppers5star_xsm

Ingredients:

1 russet potato, peeled and cut into 1-inch cubes – I used an Idaho baking potato
Kosher salt – I used sea salt
8 small skin-on, bone-in chicken thighs (about 2 1/4 pounds) – I used 2 lg breasts with skin
1 heaping tablespoon dried oregano
Freshly ground pepper
3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil – I used a total of 2 tablespoons
1 medium onion, cut into 1-inch pieces
1 large green bell pepper, cut into 1 1/2-inch pieces – I used 1 sm green and half a lg red
6 cloves garlic, smashed – I pressed the garlic
4 to 6 pickled cherry peppers, seeded and sliced, plus 1/3 cup brine – I used 6
1/4 cup roughly chopped fresh parsley

Directions:

Preheat the broiler. Put the potato in a medium saucepan, cover with water and add 1 tablespoon salt. Bring to a simmer and cook until just tender, about 8 minutes. Drain well.

Meanwhile, pat the chicken dry and sprinkle with the oregano, and salt and pepper to taste. Heat 2 tablespoons olive oil in a large cast-iron skillet over high heat (Here I used 1 tablespoon since I only had 2 breasts). Add the chicken and cook until browned, about 5 minutes per side. Transfer the chicken to a plate (I put the breasts in a 350 degree oven for about 30 minutes to cook through since they were very large).

Add the potato to the skillet and cook, stirring, 3 minutes. Add the onion and bell pepper and cook until slightly soft, about 1 minute. Reduce the heat to medium; add the remaining 1 tablespoon olive oil and the garlic and cook 2 minutes. Add the cherry peppers and brine and cook, scraping up the pan with a wooden spoon, about 1 minute. Remove from the heat.

Return the chicken to the skillet and sprinkle with the parsley. Toss with tongs, then set the chicken skin-side up on top of the vegetables. (I cooked all in a cast iron skillet and left the vegetables and chicken in the skillet when broiling). Broil until the skin is crisp, 2 to 3 minutes.

Ratings

I'd love to hear from you!

