What I’ve Been Up To

I’ve been up to a whole lot of repeating the same defeating pattern of good days, bad days.

Two weeks ago: After a couple weeks of feeling discouraged and frustrated, I found my motivation back and began exercising again with the best way I know to get me back in the swing of things. Walking. I decided to up my previous 30 min/day goal to 60 minutes. I hopped on the treadmill, didn’t care about speed and pressed the stop button exactly at 60 minutes. Two days in a row! Then…

Sa & Su: on the couch, sick. Bad way to spend a weekend with long-awaited gorgeous weather. Not to mention very unhealthy food choices.

M: great weather continues, still can’t taste my food. I put on my best walking shoes, leash up the dog, armed with plenty of kleenex and hit the neighborhood roads. 60+ minutes of walking in the fresh air! I’m beat.

T: Start eating better. Time to check on new turf. Drive over to the local bike path with furry friend in tow. Trail heavily rutted from from bike wheels and footprints (human and canine). Path runs in empty land along busy highway. Attempt jogging. Pathetic. 60+ minutes of trying.

W: volunteer day. No exercise. Weigh in day. Weigh the same thing as last week. Two months at about the same weight.

R: Continue exploring new turf. Take the bike path in the opposite direction through town. Interesting perspective on the town seeing the back yards of businesses and homes. 60+ minutes of walking/jogging along tree lined, sometimes dirt, sometimes paved path.

bike trail2

F & Sa & Su: housework, cooking, entertaining. No exercise. Eating unhealthy food. These kinds of days I have the attitude of “I-don’t-have-time-to-exercise”. Bah! At least I wasn’t on the couch all day.

Today: I would like to work on having more good days than bad days. Right now it seems like they are canceling each other out. Today I am tracking my food again. It’s one thing I know that really can help me stay focused. Yogurt/raspberries/granola for breakfast (I only sprinkle the granola, 1/4 serving amount) and green salad for lunch. Catfish (cajun seasoned, pan-fried in olive oil) and brussels sprouts planned for dinner.

It’s very cold and rainy this morning. The warm, sunny weather has left. When I finish writing, I will hit the treadmill in the basement. For now, I will keep with the 60+ minutes and see how that goes. It looks like this whole week is treadmill weather. Here’s what the forecast looks like:

weather

 

 

10 thoughts on “What I’ve Been Up To

    • Thank you for the encouragement. I’ve been trying to have fish twice a week to break up all the chicken. LOL. I like catfish and brussels sprouts are one of my favorite veggies.

      Like

      • I think you’re doing well. Maintaining the weight you’ve lost is great!

        I love Brussels sprouts. I usually roast them in the oven with shallots, a very light spritz of olive oil and sea salt and pepper. Catfish is really good, too! I love all fish and seafood I’m not a big chicken or beef fan and usually look for alternative sources of protein.

        Like

    • Yeah, it was kind of not a great idea to exercise when I didn’t feel well. I just wanted to keep going forward since I had regained the mental motivation. I hope I get strength back with some consistency.

      Like

I'd love to hear from you!

