New Recipe #4 – Marinated Salmon

I kind of got off track of trying out new recipes. This is for many reasons. Back when I was still making new things for one of my 2014 goals to try one new recipe each week, I wasn’t getting them posted (maybe I will some day). Then, I realized that sometimes I was choosing less than healthy recipes. Then, there’s the calorie tracking issue. Recipes with many ingredients can be tricky to add up all those individual calories. It depends how accurate you want the count to be. (I’m learning to relax my expectations and settle for a ballpark calorie count.) Then, I felt I was encouraging my love of food. I do so much better at weight loss with simpler foods than fancy recipes.

I’ve made this salmon recipe twice in two weeks. I’m not a huge fan of salmon, so I’m always looking for good ways to prepare it. This is definitely good! As usual I modified the preparation for what I had on hand and to my taste. The first time, I didn’t have any dry mustard on hand (gasp!) or any rice vinegar. I really dislike black pepper, but if you like it, I think it would go really well in this recipe. I don’t mind a little kick so I added a bit of cayenne. I find a little can add a lot of depth to flavors even if you only use a small amount so it’s not even spicy. I always add some lime juice to fish just before I cook to keep it from tasting fishy. Sorry for all the edits, but I like you to see the original recipe and also the way I prepared it.

Marinated Salmon

Ingredients:

1/4 cup soy sauce (I prefer tamari, but I was out of it)
1/4 cup rice wine white vinegar
2 1 tablespoons white sugar (I prefer not so sweet, 1 T was plenty sweet for me)
1 tablespoon vegetable olive oil
1 teaspoon mustard powder or prepared mustard
1 teaspoon ground ginger
1 teaspoon ground black pepper
cayenne to taste
2 pounds salmon fillets

Directions:

In a medium bowl, combine the soy sauce, vinegar, sugar, oil, mustard powder, ginger and ground black pepper cayenne.
Place the salmon in a shallow, nonporous dish and pour the marinade over the salmon. Cover and marinate in the refrigerator for at least 1 hour, turning occasionally.

(Before cooking, add some lemon or lime juice to the fish and let it sit for a few minutes.)

Preheat an outdoor grill for medium high heat and lightly oil grate. (I pan-fried my fish in a small amount of olive oil. No doubt it would be great on the grill, I was just being lazy.)

Grill the fish for about 3 to 4 minutes per side, or to desired doneness.

Ratings

6 thoughts on “New Recipe #4 – Marinated Salmon

  1. Pingback: New Recipe #5 – Sauteed Kale | Ups and Downs

I'd love to hear from you!

