New Recipe #7 – Turkey and Sweet Potato Chili

Here’s a recipe that I followed almost to a T, which is quite unusual for me. The only change I made was to use leftover rotisserie chicken in place of the ground turkey, but that’s just because I needed to use it up. This chili was delicious. I was worried the sweet potatoes might be odd (too sweet) but they were very good. The adobo has a great flavor. It is very spicy, so use it to your taste. I made this on the stove top because I didn’t have a whole 7 hours for it to cook in a crock pot.

Turkey and Sweet Potato Chili

Ingredients:

2 lbs ground turkey meat
2 large sweet potatoes, peeled and chopped into squares
2 red onion
1 (15oz) can kidney beans
1 (15oz) can black beans
3 peppers (red, yellow, orange) cored, seeded and chopped
2 (28oz) cans of diced tomatoes, drained
1/4-1/2 cup of beef stock
2 tbsp tomato paste
3-4 garlic cloves, crushed
2-3 chilis in adobo, chopped with some extra sauce added
1-2 tsp chili powder
1/2 tsp paprika
1 1/2 tsp cumin
2 tsp dry oregano
salt and pepper

Toppings suggestions: cilantro, green onions, jalapeno, cheddar, sour cream or greek yogurt, shredded red cabbage (for some crunch)

Directions:

  1. Dice peppers and red onion and place aside.
  2. Peel and chop sweet potatoes into medium squares. Place aside.
  3. Drain beans and tomatoes of juices.
  4. Press 3-4 cloves of garlic through the garlic press and place aside.
  5. Dice chili in adobo and place aside.
  6. Measure out approx 1/4 cup of beef stock. Place aside.
  7. Brown turkey meat in medium to large skillet. Drain fat and place aside.
  8. Place all ingredients into crockpot. Cook in crock pot on low for 7-8 hours.
  9. Place in bowls and top with your favorite chili toppings. Toppings that add very little calories would include: red cabbage, cilantro, green onions and jalapenos.

Serves 8

Source: http://2fatnerds.com/2014/05/02/eat-fit-not-fat-sweet-potato-and-turkey-chili

Ratings

9 thoughts on “New Recipe #7 – Turkey and Sweet Potato Chili

  1. That sounds delicious and I love the idea of rotisserie chicken because for some reason I don’t like ground turkey. My husband tries to disguise it in foods instead of ground beef and I always know. I’ll definitely try this. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    • I know what you mean about the ground turkey. I’ve found a brand (I think it’s Perdue, no additives) that I pretty much like ok. I usually use the regular and not the ground breast. In my small town it’s hard to find anything but the big names (aka Jennie-O, which I do not like).

      Like

    • You can find the peppers in adobo in small cans in the mexican section of most grocery stores now (at least in my area). I don’t really know what adobo is exactly. It’s a thick, spicy sauce the peppers are covered in.

      Like

I'd love to hear from you!

