Apps and Rain

rain

The evidence. It’s raining.

I must be making some progress. Normally for me to head out for a run, the weather has to be “perfect”. I have no idea what perfect weather is, but I know what it’s not. Those are the excuses I have for not going out. It’s too hot. It’s too cold. It’s too windy. Last week it was raining. I had just decided to start using the Galloway method and had found there was an app I could use as a guide. I was kind of excited to have a new plan and a new app to try out. But it was raining. I kept waiting for it to stop, but I was running out of time since I had agreed to meet a friend for coffee to begin a new project together. I realized what was going on. I was just using this as an excuse, it wasn’t even raining that hard. I thought of Charlotte at I Run in the Rain. I thought that if she likes to run in the rain, maybe it would be kind of cool to do. So with one last fleeting thought about what the wet would do to my shoes, I headed out with my app.

I usually don’t wear cool running gear. I wear any kind of shorts with pockets to stuff my phone in and kleenex. Must have kleenex. I do have an armband for my phone, but a pocket seems to be easier for me. Some day I will graduate to cool running gear, but I really don’t want my attire to be another excuse to not go out. This day I could keep my phone dry in the pocket. I chose the app option to “Improve my 5k” instead of the other option, “Run my first 5k”.

Things started out great. The rain felt nice and cool and refreshing. I got the app running, but sadly realized I hadn’t really looked at it much beforehand. I was having problems with it stopping and skipping after I got past the warm up walk. Eventually, I became frustrated, thinking it was just another bad app. I abandoned it and opted to use the timer on my phone. By this point I knew what the day’s run was supposed to be and timed it myself. 3 minute warm up walk, 20 min run/walk, 3 min cool down walk.

I opted for the very lowest level of intervals with 30 sec run, 30 sec walk. This is really hard to do. You just get in a groove running and Jeff tells you it’s time to walk. Then you just get in relaxed walk mode and Jeff tells you it’s time to run. The app has music available that slows down and speed up to your pace for the walk/run intervals. This first time I didn’t have this set up, so it was quiet for the 30 seconds. I find the beat so helpful to keep me going at the right cadence. Unfortunately I’m pretty bad at keeping a beat (would never know I had all those music lessons as a kid). In a crowd, when everyone is clapping to a beat, I’m the one off-beat. But in general, I can tell with the app music if I’m too slow and I try to correct myself.

I made it through the whole session without wilting in the rain. I really enjoyed it, except for the constant trying to keep my phone dry while I timed myself. I need to program these intervals into my interval timer app as a backup. Later, I did figure out the app and I guessed that the trouble was I kept hitting the giant pause button. (I redid this workout yesterday and it went fine, but I held my phone in my hand the whole time). I spent time looking through all the options and settings and familiarizing myself with the whole 8 week plan. At one point I saw a 5.5 mile run (run/walk). Whoa! Then I saw the next week it was 7 miles! That’s a lot more than a 5k which is my limit so far. This could get interesting. For one thing, at my speed, that’s a big time commitment.

I’ll let you know how I like the app as I progress through it. I’m thinking I should switch to the 1 minute run/1 minute walk, but we’ll see how this goes first. The sessions alternate with normal run, speed work and longer distance (endurance). They have an app for all the distances, 5k through marathon if you’re interested.

pause

15 thoughts on “Apps and Rain

    • I would think there must be a waterproof case. As long as I can have access to it’s functionality through the armor. The armband I have would protect it somewhat, but it’s far from waterproof and I have trouble accessing the functionality. I’ll have to check into it, thanks for the idea. Maybe I can be cooly attired after all πŸ™‚ One time I tucked my phone into the tiny pocket in the waistband of my running pants and I doused it in sweat. Sometimes, I just don’t think! Fortunately it was fine.

      Like

  1. Good job, Cynthia! I wear a gear belt for iphone but another option it to put it in a ziplock. You can still look at the screen and do the touch screen if you need. Proud of you! Running in the rain is awesome but takes some prep. Galloway is a great program to run to. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thank you. A gear belt sound like something I would like better than an armband. I’ll look into it. And the ziploc, genius, so simple and almost free πŸ™‚

      Like

      • I cannot wear an armband. It bothers me the entire run. Many nice and cheap gear belts and I have 2 that are so comfortable that I forget I have it. Has waterproof pouch so iPhone, iPod, keys, identification, gel fuel…I like jelly beans! πŸ™‚ I always take a zip lock bag with me in case of rain or sweat!

        Like

  2. If you have the iPhone, get a LifePruf Fre case – it is reasonably light and slim, and totally waterproof. That was a condition when we got our kids smartphones … and they have survived almost 2 years!

    Like

    • Thanks for the suggestion, Mike. I am considering getting one. I spent some time yesterday looking at waterproof cases and it looked like the Lifeproof fre was recommended the most. πŸ™‚

      Like

I'd love to hear from you!

