New Recipe #8 – Low Carb Cajun Jambalaya

 

I made this dish back when it was still chilly outside. A huge pot of deliciousness on the stove that smells amazing. I only knocked this down to three stars because, no matter how much I try, I’m not a fan of sausage of any kind. (My star rating is only my personal taste, not an expert opinion). My husband loves sausage, so I will make this again for him and I will happily eat around the sausage or use less. I chose a pre-cooked, chicken cajun sausage (Johnsonville) because it had fewer calories than the andouille. I loved the cajun flavor it gave the jambalaya. I had trouble getting my rice done. Read the package directions for the rice you choose and adjust accordingly. Mine took about 45 minutes and I had to add water.

Low Carb Cajun Jambalaya

Ingredients:

1 lb. skinless, boneless chicken breasts cut into chunks
1/2 lb. andouille sausage (or sausage of choice)
1 large onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic
1 tbsp sugar-free ketchup
1 cup brown rice
2 cups (organic) chicken broth
1/2 cup green onion, chopped
1/2 cup parsley, chopped
2 bay leaves

Directions:

  1. Brown meat in dutch oven, remove from pot, and set aside
  2. Saute onion and garlic in the pot drippings until translucent.
  3. Add meat to the onion garlic mixture and continue cooking for about 5 minutes.
  4. Add sugar free ketchup and cook until color begins to deepen.

Add brown rice, chicken broth, green onion, parsley, and bay leaves to the pot and cook over low heat for 20 minutes. Serve immediately once rice is cooked.

Source: http://lefatquack.wordpress.com/2014/05/08/low-carb-cajun-jambalaya/

Ratings

16 thoughts on “New Recipe #8 – Low Carb Cajun Jambalaya

  1. I lovvvvvvvvvvvvvve Cajun food! Crawish etouffee is my fav, or just plain old boiled crawfish! YUM! And I’m close to Louisiana right now, so I’m hopin’ to find some good Cajun cookin’ while I’m in this part of Texas! πŸ˜€

    Like

    • I don’t eat much cajun food, but I would like to try some other recipes. I’ve never been to Louisiana either, so probably is why I haven’t had much cajun food. A visit to that area is on my bucket list πŸ™‚

      Like

      • If I come across any great ones I will definitely share them! πŸ™‚ Being in Texas I’ve gotten to have a lot of true Cajun cookin’ and it’s definitely not good for you (wayyyy too much butter!) but oh so tasty! lol

        Like

    • I don’t know what it is with sausage, maybe the nitrates. But there isn’t any I like. Some I tolerate. Around here it’s practically a sin if you don’t like bratwurst lol. I make sure to eat two or three each summer just to fit in.

      Like

      • You’re a braver woman than I am. I’ve only been able to tolerate one bite of a bratwurst ever! My husband had even made it on the grill (which makes all things taste great) and I just couldn’t do it. I agree about the nitrates, but I also think it’s the mystery of what might be in it that gets me! πŸ™‚

        Like

I'd love to hear from you!

