New Recipe #10 – Pork Roast with Apples and Sweet Potatoes

When I saw this recipe, I had to give it a try. I love pork. I love apples. I love sweet potatoes. I don’t know what possessed me to try rubbing the pork with the crushed fennel seeds (something I had never tried). I had seen several recipes using them and I guess I thought it might be a good addition with the apples and sweet potatoes. And it was delicious. But the real stars were the roasted apples and sweet potatoes. I think from now on I will mostly opt to roast my sweet potatoes. Yum. I made this recipe a second time already, without the fennel and adding sauerkaut under the roast in the pan and skipping the sauce. This was also delicious.

Pork Roast with Apples and Sweet Potatoes

Ingredients:

4 teaspoons olive oil, divided
1 pork roast (2 1/2 pounds), tied at 1-inch intervals
Salt and pepper
(crushed, toasted fennel seeds)
3 Gala apples, quartered
2 sweet potatoes, cut into 1/2-inch wedges
1 tablespoon flour
1 1/2 cups chicken broth

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 475 degrees. Coat a heavy-bottomed metal roasting pan with 2 teaspoons oil. Place pork in center and season with salt and pepper (and coat with crushed fennel seeds). Roast until top is golden, about 15 minutes.

  2. Toss apples and sweet potatoes with remaining 2 teaspoons oil and add to pan, arranging around pork. Return to oven and roast until apples and sweet potatoes are tender and an instant-read thermometer inserted in center of pork reads 140 degrees, about 20 minutes.

3. Remove pork, apples, and sweet potatoes from pan. Allow meat to rest 10 minutes before slicing. To make the sauce, whisk flour into pan drippings over medium heat, then slowly whisk in chicken broth and cook until thickened.

Source: http://rantingchef.com/2013/10/26/50-shades-of-pork-roast/

Ratings

10 thoughts on “New Recipe #10 – Pork Roast with Apples and Sweet Potatoes

  1. Yum! I’ve never tried fennel with porc roast, I mostly use it in soups. But I think I’ll give it a try the next time I’ll do a roast. What did you crush it with? ALso, your post reminded me of how long it’s been since I had roasted apples… Thanks for sharing! xoxo

    Like

    • I crushed the seeds with a little wooden pestle I have in a bowl. I’ve had it forever, so I can’t remember where I got it. The apples were really good. I don’t think of cooking apples often. I usually just eat them raw and forget they can be cooked lol.

      Like

I'd love to hear from you!

