Say something

I have been a very passive blogger this summer, reading and not writing. I realize it will be a few more days before I can put up a proper post, so I thought I’d at least check in and say something.

First of all, I’ve been mostly savoring summer. It’s not proper summer weather here (too cold). But I am still enjoying every minute of it after the horrible winter we just had. Funny, around here, any mention of winter sends shivers up our spines.

I haven’t lost any weight to speak of. I’ll post about that eventually.

I’m still running, but enjoying it much less the last week or so. I’m also not doing any other fitness. A few things I’ve tried haven’t worked out for me, so I’m happy to at least keep up with the running for now. The last week I’ve been dealing with fatigue, shin splints and sciatic pain. All of which I’m vigorously attacking to fix, since it’s contributing much to my lack of motivation.

Today we are off on a road trip to St. Louis for yet more summer fun. I’ve never been except for a Thanksgiving at a great aunt’s when I was about 5. Our main reason for going is to see the Brewers play at Busch Stadium. That will be so much fun! The home page of Busch Stadium starts out with this: “On April 10, 2006, the Cardinals opened their new 46,000 seat retro-style downtown ballpark with a 6-4 win over the Milwaukee Brewers.” I hope we don’t see a repeat of that loss, but I’m prepared for it! The Cardinals are a great team. {Rob, I’ll have to report on how we’re treated with wearing our opponent team apparel.}

I hope everyone is enjoying summer as much as I have been. I also hope to get back to regular posting soon. But it might be after State Fair, Renaissance Faire, River Rhythms, St. Martin’s Street Fair, maybe another baseball game….

18 thoughts on “Say something

  1. Welcome to our city! You just might see me running in FP because I have a 12 mile on Saturday! You will enjoy the new stadium and Go Cards! Nice, mild weekend for STL. 🙂

    Like

  2. Cynthia, I think living life is better than blogging about it. I’d kindly kick my blog to the curb if I had an actual life to live, which I will someday. Your shin splints and sciatic are another thing altogether, OUCH. I hope you have a terrific time on your trip!

    Like

  3. Hi Cynthia, boy, it sounds like you’re having a fun and full summer. Good for you. You really have to take advantage of it when it’s so short. As for us, our winter is still on, but starting to feel like Spring. For this, I am soooooo happy. I thrive in sun and warmth, but not so much so in the cold and rain.
    Oh my goodness, what the heck is happening to you eh? Fatigue, shin splints, sciatic pain.
    I’m so sorry to hear that. How are you now? Has it gotten any better?
    All the best to you. And lap up the rest of the summer as you can, it will soon enough be over. Then you can come and visit me here in Brazil for our Spring/Summer. I’ll even create a fitness regime just for you 😉
    Bless you.
    Staci

    Like

    • BTW, I just finished the subtitles to our film, “Internal Mazes” (I don’t know if you knew that we were producing a film based on the book of Hosea. Did you know?) If you would like to watch it just let me know and I’ll send you a link to it ok. It would be great to get your feedback about it.
      Thanks Cynthia.
      🙂

      Like

      • Hi Staci! It’s time for me to get back to blogging. I would LOVE to visit you in Brazil 🙂 I am doing much better. The fatigue is off and on, but the sciatica and shin splints are much better now. I didn’t know you were making the film. Send the link please (seal at wi dot rr dot com), I would like to check it out. Thank you

        Like

        • Yeah! When are you coming? 🙂
          Why is it that you keep getting fatigued? Do you know?
          Yes, it is a feature length film inspired by the Biblical story of Hosea, set in our time, addressing prostitution and sex tourism. This film aims to mobilize the church of Christ to question it’s role in a fallen society, and demonstrates the Grace of God.
          I’ll send you the link now ok.
          🙂

          Like

          • fatigue? I don’t know, not enough sleep but most likely from depression and anxiety. The last few years have been mostly studying and I’ve been done with school a year and I’m still trying to recover from all the sitting and not enough sleep. But I’ve always been fatigued. My doctor checks my thyroid and other blood work most every year. The running and exercise is helping quite a bit and eating healthier, losing 30 lbs too.
            Thank you for the link. I will make time tomorrow to give it a careful and thoughtful watching. 🙂

            Like

            • Really Cynthia. I’m so sorry to hear about your struggles. I have a hypo-thyroid. Interesting because I suffered for years with insomnia. I went to the endocrinologist to see if my thyroid was hyper, but strangely enough it was hypo. At any rate, the neurologist said that I can still have a hypothyroid and be hyperactive. My diagnosis as of yet is an anxiety disorder and slightly hyperactive. I, too, have suffered with depression. It’s so very difficult to deal with, especially when you have young children, with one on the autism spectrum.
              I pray that your fatigue goes and that you have more energy.
              Thank you so much for taking the time to watch the movie. I am so touched by what you said, “to give it a careful and thoughtful watching.”
              Bless you.
              🙂

              Like

  4. I took a lot of time off blogging this summer as well. Mostly because I just had so many goodbyes that I needed to curl up with my journal and process life privately for a while . . . I’m sorry to hear about all the troubles. Hope you are healing and growing stronger!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

