Hips + HIIT and Pounds + Feet

Hip Pain

Last Thursday when I was on the treadmill, I got the idea to push myself mentally and see if I could set my speed higher than I’ve ever run before. It was a lot of fun and I loved the challenge. Somewhere during the 3 miles, I noticed a pain in my upper hip. I took a day off after that, but the next day I repeated the same 3 mile workout. I felt the same pain, so I took another day off. The following day I thought I would just do a mile and see how it felt. Well it hurt quite a bit and I ended up walking the second half mile and called it quits.

This is one reason why I have not been pushing too hard, fear of getting hurt. By this time, my hip was hurting at night in bed. I tried to research it, but my goodness, there are so many things going on with the hip anatomy. I’m going to assume it’s just a strained something or other and it will heal if I am kind to it.

Going forward, I want to spend more time strengthening and stretching to help prevent this happening again. I had almost eliminated both those things recently for some reason. I also need to think about my form a little. I don’t think I’m a natural runner. By that I mean, I have a lazy mind, not a speedy one. I do everything in life slower than most people. Some of this is that I’m very thorough. Most of it is because I’m a thinker more than a doer. I’m a natural couch potato. So what all this means, is that when I run I don’t take enough steps per minute and tend to leave my foot on the ground too long (letting it go too far behind me).

I don’t know much about anatomy or training. I’m a total amateur. For now I just want to run. I like the way it feels and I like how healthy it is for me.

===

Wednesday Weigh-In

I’m down 2.5 pounds from last week. It feels good to be losing weight again after plateauing for so long. It really helped that I didn’t gain any weight over last weekend like I usually do. Here comes another weekend.

===

Challenges

I’ve joined 2 challenges for May. There’s the Kick Butt Challenge at Simply Fit Inside and Out. If you aren’t already following Staci’s blog, please check it out. She has great healthy tips. This challenge is about clean eating and HIIT workouts. Even though I started, I’m taking a break while my hip heals. I’m excited to try the HIIT workouts. I’m hoping for them to kick my butt!

I’ve also joined Lisa’s challenge for May. Take a look at her blog for great inspiration. For this challenge we were asked to pick a realistic, healthy goal for the month. My goal is to lose 5 pounds this month. That seems doable and will make a great start to summer.

===

New shoes

I received some new shoes this week from the “present man” (aka UPS driver). I was looking for some with a little stability for walking on uneven trails. I ordered these ASICS GEL-Scram 2 Trail Running Shoes online that I was able to get deeply discounted. They seemed a little wobbly when I tried them on. Hopefully they will be good for hiking this summer (if it ever warms up around here.)

asics sm

17 thoughts on “Hips + HIIT and Pounds + Feet

  1. I find when I don’t stretch properly that’s when I tweek a muscle 😦 I’ve been running for years and new nothing about “cadence”. Look it up. I’m constantly learning about running – from friends, coaches and bloggers! Yeah for being down 2.5 pounds – that’s great!

    Like

  2. Cynthia, you are doing so good ! One can only never get injured if they never train so this hips pain is your badge of honor ! Also, osteopath are a great help in case it keeps bothering you and your body needs a little help repairing itself. Hope you are going to feel on top of the world pretty soon !
    I have never herd of anyone being a natural runner… I have heard of tons of people running and improving and figuring it out along the way so maybe it is time for the inner critic to go on vacation and never come back because you are a runner and that is all that matters ! The facts : you are injured and still thinking about running, writing it here and getting new shoes !!! The proof is is the UPS delivery ! I am sure you will smash your goal this month and enjoy the kick from the HIIT ( that is an accurate name because it hits you hard, lol ) ! Fruity hugs !

    Like

  3. It’s so very hard to know that you need to push yourself and yet at the same time you have to try not to “over do” I think you’re doing absolutely fantastic! Listen to your body and rest! πŸ˜‰ I lovvvvve your shoes!!!!!!!!!!! πŸ˜€ Isn’t the “present man” awesome! haha πŸ˜€

    Like

    • It is hard to make a commitment, isn’t it?- life gets in the way. I would say, those sound like excuses, but I know you’re super busy right now! Don’t forget to take care of yourself πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. Heyyyy there. Wow, thanks for such kind words Cynthia. You are so sweet. I really hope your hip gets better soon. Good thing is that the challenge started when it was still April. So this Monday will be the beginning of four full weeks. Not bad eh. Let me know how you’re doing. Also, all of these exercises can be modified to the level you feel is best for you. A good rule of thumb is to keep it at a pace that you’re able to do, where you sense it’s a challenge for you, but not to the point of “OMG, this is impossible!”.
    I wish I had more time to invest more in this blog and give full on instructions and all. I’m certified and this is a huge passion of mine, but time is my worst enemy.
    On another not, good on you for losing 2.5 pounds. That’s great.
    πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thanks for your support. It is too bad you don’t have more time for your passion, but I think you’re doing a great job and find your work very inspiring! I’m thinking your advice is good, I should just try the workouts and do what I can or modify as needed. That’s what I did this morning for the 5 minute workout. I wasn’t able to do the superman push ups very well because of my soreness, but I tried (haha, not that I can do them well without soreness anyways LOL). It’s only 50 sec of effort to give to try to do an exercise!

      Like

      • Love it! That’s the spirit. You know, when I started doing HIIT, I couldn’t do regular pushups. I always did the girly ones on the knees, you know? Anyhow, now I can not only do regular pushups, but I can do elevated ones, jagged ones, ones on dumbells and so on. Keep it up and soon enough you’ll be saying, “hmmm, these spider man push ups are too easy for me.” hehehe. What ya think?
        πŸ™‚

        Like

I'd love to hear from you!

