New Recipe #5 – Sauteed Kale

Last week when I made the Marinated Salmon, I had some fresh, raw kale in the fridge I need to get eaten up. Usually I eat kale raw in salad. I had only tried sauteing kale one other time and was not thrilled with the results. It was pretty tough. I wanted to try it again, so I did a search and found this recipe for sauteed kale.  This time it turned out delicious.

Sauteed Kale

Ingredients:

1 1/2 lbs kale, stems and leaves coarsely chopped
2 tablespoons olive oil
crushed red pepper flakes, to taste (optional)
2 garlic cloves, finely sliced
1/2 cup vegetable stock or 1/2 cup water
salt and pepper
2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar

Directions:

  1. Heat olive oil in a large saucepan over medium-high heat.
  2. Add crushed red pepper flakes, if using, and let them sizzle a bit in the oil.
  3. Add the garlic and cook until soft, but not colored.
  4. Raise heat to high, add the stock and kale and toss to combine.
  5. Cover and cook for 5 minutes.
  6. Remove cover and continue to cook, stirring until all (most) the liquid has evaporated.
  7. Season with salt and pepper to taste and add vinegar.

4 Servings
155 calories/serving

Source: http://www.food.com/recipe/my-favorite-sauteed-kale-364252

Ratings

I'd love to hear from you!

